cents owned per $1 owed · G7 governments · ex pension funds and pension entitlements
- country¢ per $1net fin. worth % GDPinterest % revenue (2024)central bank total assets yoy
- 1Germany 202562¢−25.62.3ECB −4.12%shares the ECB
- 2Canada 202557¢−49.58.3BoC +4.65%
- 3Japan 202435¢−144.64.0BoJ −10.17%
- 4UK 202532¢−66.07.4BoE −8.35%not ranked, data 476 days old
- 5France 202531¢−90.54.0ECB −4.12%shares the ECB
- 6US 202528¢−94.313.2Fed +2.41%
- 7Italy 202516¢−128.88.2ECB −4.12%shares the ECB
¢ per $1 and net financial worth: OECD Table 720, financial assets and liabilities excluding social security fund assets and pension entitlements. interest: IMF Public Finances in Modern History, gross interest paid ÷ revenue. central bank: money printer data, latest total-assets yoy, local currency.
all versions · notes
cents owned per $1 owed · G7 government financial balance sheets
| # | country | year | original | ex social security funds | ex funds + ex pension entitlements | with promised pensions (yr) | fin. assets % GDP | fin. liabilities % GDP | social security fund assets % GDP | pension entitlements in liabilities % GDP | promised pensions added % GDP |
|---|
| 1 | Germany | 2025 | 68¢ | 62¢ | 62¢ | 12¢ (2021) | 45.4 | 66.5 | 4.4 | 0.0 | 317.3 |
| 2 | Canada | 2025 | 87¢ | 58¢ | 57¢ | 59¢ (2023) | 109.8 | 125.6 | 36.4 | 9.8 | 50.2 |
| 3 | Japan | 2024 | 62¢ | 35¢ | 35¢ | – | 138.6 | 222.2 | 61.1 | 0.0 | – |
| 4 | UK | 2025 | 32¢ | 32¢ | 32¢ | 9¢ (2018) | 30.8 | 96.9 | not split | 0.1 | 274.2 |
| 5 | France | 2025 | 46¢ | 31¢ | 31¢ | 13¢ (2021) | 59.6 | 131.0 | 19.0 | 0.0 | 397.3 |
| 6 | US | 2025 | 25¢ | 25¢ | 28¢ | 14¢ (2024) | 36.0 | 142.5 | not split | 12.2 | 101.6 |
| 7 | Italy | 2025 | 21¢ | 16¢ | 16¢ | 6¢ (2021) | 31.7 | 154.1 | 7.3 | 0.9 | 430.4 |
rankings
original: CA 87¢ > DE 68¢ > JP 62¢ > FR 46¢ > UK 32¢ > US 25¢ > IT 21¢
ex social security funds: DE 62¢ > CA 58¢ > JP 35¢ > UK 32¢ > FR 31¢ > US 25¢ > IT 16¢
ex funds + ex pension entitlements: DE 62¢ > CA 57¢ > JP 35¢ > UK 32¢ > FR 31¢ > US 28¢ > IT 16¢
with promised pensions: CA 59¢ > US 14¢ > FR 13¢ > DE 12¢ > UK 9¢ > IT 6¢ (Japan not reported)
how each is counted
- original: general government financial assets ÷ financial liabilities, non-consolidated, market value.
- ex social security funds: drops the assets of the social security funds subsector (S1314); all liabilities kept, including government bonds those funds hold.
- ex funds + ex pension entitlements: also drops pension and insurance entitlements (F6) on both sides.
- with promised pensions: funds back in, plus accrued-to-date social security pensions and unfunded government-employee pensions from the supplementary pension table (Table 2900). years differ; Japan not reported.
notes
- Canada original count includes 36.4% of GDP in public pension fund assets (CPP/QPP, 2025; CPP Investments alone 22.0%). the pensions promised against them aren't counted as debt, so the fund is left out here.
- Japan original count includes 61.1% of GDP in social security fund assets (2024; GPIF alone 39.4%). the pensions promised against them aren't counted as debt, so the funds are left out here.
- France, Italy, Germany social security fund assets left out too: 19.0%, 7.3%, 4.4% of GDP (2025). UK reports no separate social security fund.
- US counts 12.2% of GDP in government-employee pension entitlements as debt (2025), unlike most others (Canada 9.8%). left out here for all 7. its Social Security trust fund ($2.56T, 8.3% of GDP, end-2025) holds only Treasury IOUs, so it is in neither column; counting those IOUs as owed: 26¢.
- social security funds include non-pension bodies (health, unemployment) for France, Germany and Italy; no pension-only split is published.
- US and UK don't report the social security funds subsector separately.
sources: OECD Table 720 (DF_T720GOV_A) by subsector; OECD Table 2900 (DF_TABLE29); OECD Table 1 GDP; CPP Investments F2026 results (net assets C$714.4B at 31 Mar 2025); GPIF FY2024 annual report (¥249.8T at 31 Mar 2025); 2026 OASDI Trustees Report, Table II.B1 ($2,561.3B end-2025).
← dollar & funding · money printer leaderboard →